OUR STORY


UNE SIGNATURE INTEMPORELLE.

Christian Fournet

Founder

Son of an engineering physicist and a soprano mother, Christian Fournet graduated from ESAJ (Landscape Architecture School) in 1977 and started his landscaping agency at the age of 25. His passion for landscaping came from his childhood. To avoid his musical practice, too frequent for his own taste, he used to escape in his family garden in the Parisian suburb. From an early age, he has become acquainted with that haven by observing the seasonal changes, the plant architecture and their growth dynamic.

All the private gardens designed by Christian Fournet are a testimony of his attention to details and formal elegance.

Prioritising sobriety over exuberance and balancing the concept with the fact, he endeavours to develop an original design, which has become his signature for more than 40 years: to create simple yet elegant gardens, which combine aesthetic with poetry and lightness.

Christian Fournet brings together passion, sensitivity and a proven aesthetic geared towards excellence. Upon the mention of his latest work, highly praised in the press, it is obvious that he has the soul of a gardener. Beyond being subtle, his style never fails to surprise, establishing itself as the answer to the challenge of Déjà-Vu.

Emotions and privacy are at the core of his gardens. Each garden moves with the times and are unique, while offering a luxury experience and escapism. You walk through them like in a family garden, steeped in the history of their owners.

Called upon to work on residences, some overlooking nature and others embracing the city, he relies on his 40-year partnership with talented craftsmen, nurserymen and horticulturists.

Today, there are more than 100 private gardens in France, Spain, Italy and Morocco, which bear witness to the rich and diverse body of work, inherited from the biggest European landscapers.

In 2020, Christian Fournet merged his company with the MUGO group to open a new chapter in its history. 

Distinctions

  • Winner of the Victoires du Paysage 2012, bronze medal in the category of private gardens over 500m2 - garden of Glanville, Calvados
  • Winner of the Victoires du Paysage 2010, gold medal in the Business category - patio Novotel, Paris I
  • Jardins, jardin aux Tuileries 2010, Innovation Award for Carrément
  • Jardins, jardin aux Tuileries 2012, Prize for the scenography for Entrelacs

Bibliography

The gardens of Christian Fournet, 16 gardens from here and elsewhere (The gardens of Christian Fournet, 16 gardens from here and elsewhere) .
Texts by Bénédicte Boudassou, photos by Sophie Lloyd.
EN

Histoire


UNE SIGNATURE INTEMPORELLE.

Christian Fournet

Fondateur

Fils d’un ingénieur physicien et d’une mère soprano, Christian Fournet, diplômé de l’ESAJ (École Supérieure d’Architecture des Jardins) en 1977, lance son agence de paysage à l’âge de 25 ans. Il doit sa vocation de paysagiste à son enfance, durant laquelle, afin d’éviter des répétitions musicales trop fréquentes à son goût, il trouvait refuge au cœur de son jardin familial en région parisienne. Un refuge qu’il a apprivoisé dès son plus jeune âge, observant le cycle des saisons, l’architecture des plantes et leur dynamique de croissance.

Les nombreux jardins privés que Christian Fournet a conçus et réalisés témoignent tous d’un sens aigu du détail, allié à une élégance formelle.

Privilégiant la sobriété à l’exubérance et évitant l’écueil de la suprématie du conceptuel sur le factuel, il s’attache à développer une forme originale devenue sa signature depuis plus de quarante ans : créer des jardins élégants et simples ou esthétique rime avec légèreté et poésie.

Christian Fournet allie avec passion, une sensibilité et une esthétique éprouvée portée vers l’excellence. À l’évocation de ses dernières réalisations, saluées par la presse, son âme de jardinier sonne comme une évidence.

Au-delà de sa délicatesse, son trait se devine, surprise après surprise, comme une réponse au défi du déjà-vu. Dans ses jardins, émotions et intimité sont les maîtres mots. Chaque jardin évolue avec son époque et aucun ne se ressemble. Chacun, offre une expérience du luxe et de l’évasion. On les visite comme des jardins de famille empreints de l’histoire de leurs hôtes.

Sollicités pour des résidences qui plongent leurs regards dans la nature et d’autres qui enlacent la ville, il s’appuie sur une relation étroite avec des artisans d’arts, des pépiniéristes et horticulteurs de talents, fruit de 40 années de collaboration.

Plus de 100 jardins privés existent aujourd’hui en France, Inde, Espagne, Italie et au Maroc. Ils témoignent d’une œuvre foisonnante et riche, héritière des plus grands paysagistes européens.

En 2020, Christian Fournet transmet son entreprise au Groupe MUGO afin d’ouvrir une nouvelle page de son histoire. 

Distinctions

  • Lauréat des Victoires du Paysage 2012, médaille de bronze dans la catégorie Jardins de particuliers de plus 500m2 – jardin de Glanville, Calvados
  • Lauréat des Victoires du Paysage 2010, médaille d’or dans la catégorie Entreprise – patio Novotel, Paris Ier
  • Jardins, jardin aux Tuileries 2010, Innovation Award for Carrément
  • Jardins, jardin aux Tuileries 2012, Prize for the scenography for Entrelacs

Bibliographie

Les jardins de Christian Fournet, 16 jardins d’ici et d’ailleurs.
Texts by Bénédicte Boudassou, photos by Sophie Lloyd.
FR